PDA

View Full Version : mini Lowering

lomax
21st November 2006, 04:46 AM
Hi i am new :)

I have recently bought a mini cooper s works and i would like to lower it.

What do you guys recommend? And do you have pics on how low your cars are and what they are lowered by?

I like a low car and had coilovers on my evo and golf. But i feel the ride quality of the mini is pretty good as it is, but would just like it lower.

Craig
21st November 2006, 04:57 AM
I'm not an expert, but what I have heard from others I will share.

the Manufacturer and some say that you cannot just put springs onto the car because of the dampers being matched to the springs and this then upsets the handling, however I know people who have just put on the EIBACH springs and ravved about them :D.

Scottiecoop I think put coilovers on one of her cars and she said it was much better than standard..

The price difference between the 2 is huge and if you ask the manufacturer, they will say, do the full suspension, but I have seem a car on eibach lowered springs and it looked great. :D:D

Ulitmately depends on your budget and if the car is still under warranty.. Just my opinion mind ;)

lomax
21st November 2006, 04:59 AM
Well i would like to go lower than 30mm although i don't know what that looks like on the standard 17's?

I have done a search but not having much luck.

Crombers
21st November 2006, 05:43 AM
I,m from the other 'camp' , (oo err) & basically why bother / don't do it. BMW invested millions on our litte beloved cars to give the best optimum ride/handling from their research. Who are we as mere minions to muck about with perfection.

OK , I,m off wi ma pipe & slippers :p

The Dogfather
21st November 2006, 04:52 PM
I'm with Crombers, don't do it, you'll screw the cars handling and ride up.

I don't have pipe slippers and as I'm a lot younger than Crombers

MartinSullivan
21st November 2006, 05:22 PM