PDA

View Full Version : One D

VFR-Ray
26th November 2003, 10:08 PM
Can anyone offer any comments about the One D?

I've driven a Mini One (before the One D was available) and loved it, however due to hefty business start up costs I decided to opt for a used car to start with.

I'm a Driving Instructor and thinking of moving up to a One D in the New Year. At the moment I'm getting a very poor trade in offer on my low mileage Yaris, the expected delivery time is too long - April!That's from my nearest dealer in Inverness - I should point out that living on an island makes test drives difficult.

Monsta Mo Mini
26th November 2003, 11:18 PM
Hi Ray - Davidson 2 is also a driving instructor and he has a ONE. can't offer you any advice about the D I'm afraid.

Big Col
27th November 2003, 01:05 AM
I think Slooooooooooooooooooooooooow is the only comment I've heard.

KenL
27th November 2003, 01:09 AM
It is probably a wee bit sluggish pulling away but the high mid-range torque probably makes it quite nippy once you are off and running.

I don't know if being a diesel makes it easier for learner drivers though.

If you go onto MINI2 and look at the reviews section there are a couple of reviews of the ONE D on there.

Gismo
27th November 2003, 02:32 AM
I think Paul Mullett's wee brother had a diesel as a test car on the Milton Keynes run earlier this year, i spoke with him and he was quite happy with the performance :)

Bonnie Scotland

ONED
27th November 2003, 03:09 AM
We love it!:D

As KenL said,it may be a little sluggish pulling off, I have managed to stall it a few times but you do get used to it, It's no worse than a small petrol car.
Big Col I think I'd have to disagree with you there, I was expecting sluggish all the way, but it's really quite lively, especially from 3rd through to 6th.

ny152
27th November 2003, 10:19 AM