PDA

View Full Version : Bye Bye To Commuting MINI

Smitty
13th June 2006, 07:00 AM
Well, for past three and a bit weeks I have been using the MINI to commute for Brechin to Portletham every day, which is a 60mile round trip.

Now I love the MINI but its not a car for commuting in!

The fuel economy isn't the best, i was averaging 35mpg (ish) and that was taking it extremely easy. Was probably spending around £35 a week on fuel, excluding other journeys. Might not sound a lot but i'm a poor student remember! Also, the ride isn't the smoothest on dual carriageways, and if i had to do anymore miles a day i feel i would begin to feel it on the back!:blackeye:

I also wasn't happy racking the miles up on it, as it now has 8000miles on the clock, and would have continued rising sharply, which would not have been good news when i come to buy it from mother in two years time....countdown is on!!:approve:

Anyway, my Dad bought a new car at the weekend (taking delivery on Saturday.......very VERY nice car;)!!) so I'm using his old car until end of summer, before it is sold. So i am now driving a Pug 306 Tdi in a lovely Blaze yellow!!:eek::p

Nice enough car, but not half as much fun as a MINI. But will be much better on fuel, and a smoother ride on the Dual....just not half the amount of fun round roundabouts though!!:p:D

Well, thats my story over, feel free to add if you want!:p

Crombers
13th June 2006, 07:17 AM
Just posted this on another thread & at 6'0 with sports suspension + with 25K on the clock at 2 years old I'm one of the few folk that think the MINI is a well comfy car to drive :approve:

lightbody
13th June 2006, 07:40 AM
I also think its comfy - thats what 10 years of driving classic Minis will do for you!

Its definitely not economical though...hopefully something they're sorting for the 2007 model...

stoney
13th June 2006, 07:48 AM
i lke the ride and i have done about 35k in 18 months but my last car was lowerd and stif as

AndyP & Lenore