PDA

View Full Version : Jet Washing Engine Bay

macblob
27th October 2003, 08:14 PM
Under my bonnet is mingin these days as it has pretty much never been cleaned.
Is it ok to use a Jet wash lance to clean under there , or would I need to cover the battery etc, to avoid to much water getting in at any electrical bits and bobs?

Any opinions would be much appreciated.

Ta Brian

Gismo
27th October 2003, 08:27 PM
Brian,
Used to do it when i was a mechanic and it caused nowt but grief, the plug leads, what looks like a coil, the battery and any electrical wires would all need to be wrapped up. Even then condensation is a nightmare.

I would advise not to use a power washer, if you must use something then a decent de-greaser on a rag and wipe it all down :)

Bonnie Scotland

Wul
27th October 2003, 10:03 PM
Brian - i'm with BS on this one - don't use a jetwash at all.

I did mines last year with some degreaser and a watering can after bagging all the important bits - try here http://www.carcareonline.com/viewarticle.aspx?art=4 for more tips.

Care and patience are the order of the day - don't use too much so that it causes more problems ie squealing belts; damp electrics etc. A decent degreaser, an old tooh brush and a bag of rags should see you ok

macblob
28th October 2003, 12:57 AM
Cheers guys , I cleaned some of it today while doing the rest of the car with a sponge and soapy water , just to get the most manky bits cleaner , but was careful to stay away from the electrics. Thanks for the advice :D

Just had a wee thought, ive seen various waterless valet places, think they use a kind of steam cleaner, would this incure the same probs as using water?

Wul
28th October 2003, 01:37 AM
brian - imho yes as soon as the steam hits a cold surface it would condese to water anyway - also wouldn't like to think what it would do to plastic bits etc!

Duncan Stewart
28th October 2003, 08:02 PM