PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a job

AberdeenMini
18th January 2005, 07:14 PM
Alright peeps. Im about to finish uni in the coming months, the time is nearly here to move on into the big bad world of full time employment. I am therefore looking for a suitable job.
Anyone know of any scottish Companies who recruit IT graduates, or better still anyone want to employ me? :cool:
Im studying BSC (Hons) in Computing for Business and E-Commerce which means that no IT job is likely to be too specific as i have a covered many different fields.
Any good website suggestions would be helpful too, thanks alot! :)

Burple
18th January 2005, 07:36 PM
www.jobs.ac.uk Jobs in all academic institutions throughout the UK ( If you wanna *WORK* in a Uni now!! heh.. :D

Then all the usual ones like www.monster.co.uk

:D

minidriver#1
18th January 2005, 09:39 PM
i got all 3 of my jobs through jobs.ac.uk :) i recommend working in academia :)

its hard to find permanent contracts in IT nowadays, but its easier if you look in academia. But dont be too fussy, take anything you can get for the experience, i used to travel to Edinburgh from Dundee every week day morning but it was worth it for the experience to put down on your CV. Experience is just as important, if not more so, than academic qualifications in some situations.

Once you have the experience its much easier to land the job you want. I beat 350 applicants for my current job :D and i aint planning on leaving. lol.

Julz
19th January 2005, 12:27 AM
If only you were a civil or structural engineer, our Aberdeen office is desperate for new bods and we've just employed 5 newbs!!:clown:

Sheilz
19th January 2005, 07:58 AM
quote:Originally posted by Julz

If only you were a civil or structural engineer, our Aberdeen office is desperate for new bods and we've just employed 5 newbs!!:clown:

But the pay for new grads is awful. Son no 2 was offered a job with them but luckily got a similar post for a lot more dosh with a Westhills co.