PDA

View Full Version : Advice from the experienced please...?

laraboo
7th December 2004, 08:39 AM
Hello, newbie here...:I

I have a Dec 01 mini that's nearly out of warranty and have been offered the extended one from Easterns. Would those that know recommend I take it? I like the car (and my mods, cd changer, 17" wheels, saltire, bonnet stripes etc...) but don't hold out too much faith in the build quality. Tons has been done on the warranty already. Perhaps I should trade it in and get new one?? If so, I presume I could re-use me wheels?

Any words of wisdom greatly appreciated... ta x

Edit:- Moved to correct forum

sleepyrascal
7th December 2004, 09:26 AM
Interesting. I'm in your situation also (Jan 02 Mini cooper). I also have had loads done on warranty, and recently. I would be interested to see what others think.

Gismo
7th December 2004, 09:33 AM
I'm not quite there yet, but, i'm not too far away, i reckon you'll have to count the cost of 2 or 3 services and i'm sure you'll easily get back your money back

Welcome to NMS, got a run this Sunday if you're interested in meeting up with like minded eejits :p

sleepyrascal
7th December 2004, 09:44 AM
Yeh Lara, as Bonnie said, come along on Sunday and you can chat face to face with all the 'experts'! :D:D

We decided not to take out extended warranty on the A3. Ended up with a bill for £1300 shortly after the warranty expired. Most of that would have been warrantly covered!! DOH!!

Also, on the Merc CL 500 I mentioned before, the warranty ran out with only 12000 miles on the clock and along came a bill for £3000! OUCH!!

I've been thinking...

It seems that the mini extended warranty, which is a mere £300, or £350, I cant remember, Is a good idea. I think given the amount of work I have had done on warranty, and the amount I expect to need done at a later date (There are ongoing problems) , It is well worth it!:)

Big Col
7th December 2004, 04:48 PM