PDA

View Full Version : Timing Chains - all

Simboy1973
23rd July 2016, 08:28 PM
Can I ask you all a very obvious question.
I'm new to the mini scene, just bought a R56 Cooper S.

Question. Is the timing chain on the supercharged, Turbocharged N14/N18 engines - the same or are some single or double width chains etc. I'm just wondering. Don't laugh, I expect them to all be very different.

I'll tell you more later once I've had a few replies. I'm sure there could be a mini parts person on the forum to explain the difference, especially when ordering one.

Thanks Si :thumbs up:

stoney
23rd July 2016, 10:57 PM
They will be different I would think as it's 2 different engines

stoney
23rd July 2016, 11:07 PM
R53
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/showparts?id=RE32-EUR-02-2004-R53-Mini-Cooper_S&diagId=11_3095

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160723/c8a724ebee3483c7f02ea97cfaacb045.jpg

R56 N14
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/showparts?id=MF73-USA-05-2008-R56-Mini-Cooper_S&diagId=11_3924

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160723/3828685a0e477d5426374cfc86f50241.jpg

Simboy1973
23rd July 2016, 11:47 PM
OK so this has what happened to my wee Turbo mini.

Collected my new toy, a couple of days later, after starting up without the stereo blaring, i heard a wee diesel rattle. Lasted about 40/50 seconds around 1500/1800 revs. Called the garage, they advised bring it in when you can.
They did the checks, thinking it was going to be the timing chain it turns out it was the vanos. Another ordered and fitted, i was asked if i wanted the timing chain kit fitted as they were in the correct part of the engine, if i footed the bill for the kit they'd kit FOC.
Grudgingly, i agreed. We agreed when id collect. The day before collection, i got a call - good news - bad news. The kits been fitted with the vanos, the noise was still there. We will have to investigate. Oh, go on then.