PDA

View Full Version : Classic Mini

Neil - TXJ
5th May 2014, 07:50 PM
Hi - is this a mad idea?

Next year my eldest turns 17, I know it hard to believe I am old enough 😄, and he will be learning to drive. Problem I will have is my car is a company car and I don't think learners are allowed and our other car is a large 4x4 automatic.

One option is to buy another car for him to learn in - the practicalities of affording this is another issue but let's put that to one side for now.

I was wondering if getting a classic may be an option. I have no mechanical experience so would want one in good order so was thinking of one of the later run out models but not the special editions at the end of production due to price and would also like to be able to mod without keeping it standard.

Is this a mad idea? I like the idea of getting into another community and having a car I can mod but is relatively cheap to insure. It won't do a lot of miles but needs to be a relatively easy car to learn to drive in, could obviously get an Aygo or Pug equivalent but a bit boring.

Thoughts appreciated.

badwolf340
5th May 2014, 08:09 PM
As you have said getting one in good nick is the key and if you can't maintain it yourself ,finding a local garage that you can trust or learn to maintain it yourself, routine servicing is not hard ,but mind and buy a grease gun :thumbs up:

weefossy
5th May 2014, 08:09 PM
Will have a really good Toyota Ago for sale. Only 7000 miles on the clock. Great on insurance, road tax and fuel economy. Ideal car to learn in?

bpirie1000
5th May 2014, 08:26 PM
If it has to be a classic then mini works or McDonald minis or mini mart will see you right..

just say remember classics ain't forgiving when it comes to bumps....Aygo maybe would be a little easier on the budget...

ppersonally i I would be looking at the young deals Citroen do/did free insurance for 17 year olds...

EcosseGP
6th May 2014, 08:00 AM