PDA

View Full Version : New Mini Cooper S JCW 2005 owner :)

naufal.stab
20th January 2012, 03:38 PM
Hi guys. I am Naufal. Nice to meet you all :)

A month ago, I bought a black Cooper S JCW 2005 with 55k miles on the clock. That is my first Mini and my first car as well. Really a beginner here and need lots of advice from the other members.

Just out of curiosity, is 55k on 2005 Mini too much for its age?plus, it has got 4 previous owners before. The guy who sold the car to me is a nice guy. He said the previous owners were family members. I am a lil scared when came across thread that says avoid car with many previous owners. I have started to question the reliability of my Mini since then.

As far as I am concern, according to history, there are not much problem with it. But I just realize, its front driver side tyre has worn out. and front brakes may need change in the next MOT I guess. these are not signs of being ripped off right?

Btw, I just wanted to say hello since I am a newbie here :) and If possible, do share some opinions on my situation. if you got time to spare, I would really appreciate if you could point out where I should go for tyre and brake fitting at a cheap price. I thought of buying used tyre since the new one is expensive. and buy brakes from ebay. but the fitting cost is way too expensive :( at my wit's end now. thanks for looking by. cheers :)

Stewart
20th January 2012, 03:55 PM
Welcome to NMS!

That’s a nice looking car. Everyone will have there own opinion but I don’t think 55K on that year of car is excessive at all. Thing is anything that was going to go wrong probably would have gone wrong under warranty. If your unsure I’d find a local garage and get it serviced with an oil change, plugs and air filter so you can start afresh.

Pads and Tyres are expected to wear out.