PDA

View Full Version : 19,000 for ALL brake pads and discs!!

AndyP & Lenore
29th April 2010, 09:06 PM
Our R56 has just been in to Vardy for a TLC service. When we arrived they stuck the key in the wee reader and it told them all that was required was a brake service???? So, they checked the brakes and it seems I need new discs and pads all round. Now I realise these are wear and tear items, but for them all to require replacing after just 19,000 is shocking. Refused to have them replaced and we're going to take the car to an independent garage and get a second opinion on them.

I've had a look at the discs and they look fine to me, but then, I'm no expert.:confused:

A.:frown:

Delboy
29th April 2010, 09:17 PM
I agree Andy, that is shocking. I also cannot believe that your rear discs need replacing at this mileage and that they are done at the same time as the front discs since the front brakes do most of the stopping.
Think you are right to get a second opinion.

AndyP & Lenore
29th April 2010, 09:23 PM
I agree Andy, that is shocking. I also cannot believe that your rear discs need replacing at this mileage and that they are done at the same time as the front discs since the front brakes do most of the stopping.
Think you are right to get a second opinion.

Well, here's the strange thing... They reckon the front ones have another 3k on them, but the rear ones need replacing now:confused:. What worries me is they seem to be just going by what the cars on board computer is telling them. How in hell the cars OBC can tell when the pads/discs need replacing I really don't know. They say the rear ones are quite pitted. I've looked at them, and unless I don't know what pitted discs look like, they look fine to me.

A.:confused:

Gismo
29th April 2010, 09:29 PM
Defo get a second opinion from a non BMW garage

stoney
29th April 2010, 09:34 PM
dose the R56 not have pad sensor on them witch in turns lights up a warning light on your dash my r53 jcw has this

Knox18