PDA

View Full Version : Clutch Advice Please....

Ivano
3rd January 2009, 05:55 PM
I was stuck in a bit of a Traffic Jam yesterday, so the usual stop start stop start.... I started to smell a bit of a burning smell which i assumed must have been coming from the clutch... (May have been riding the clutch a little :hand::hand: Bad Man!!!)

My car is a 55 plate and done just over 33,000 miles.

I have been driving the car a bit today and all seems fine albeit that there might be a slight judder when setting off, do you think there could be any lasting damage or could it just be it got a bit over-heated and be fine??? or could it be my clutch needs a little adjusting?... I have no knowledge in this area but don't want anything bad to happen to the car so not sure if i should get it looked at.

I am always a bit wary about MINI Service depts as tend to be money making machines and don't want them to turn around and say New Clutch required...

If it say was a new clutch or something does anyone know what sort of bill i could be looking at with Labour... IE has anyone had to have such an item replaced or fixed in the past??

Any assistance/advice here would be much appreciated.. :thumbs up:

Craig
3rd January 2009, 06:03 PM
Ivan,

Ian King just replaced the clutch on his car and I think it took him about 4 hours out and back in... I think a garage will quote near to a full day in labour to cover themselves, plus the part (which i think ian paid about £150 for), so you could be looking at about £400 depending on labour rates... not cheap.. :argh::frown:

I have the same issue as you, but i also have selection problems in 1st/2nd and also my clutch release bearing is quite noisy... My clutch also seems to have no progression, it feels like a switch, either on or off.... if you know what I mean..

best of luck, I am going to get mine booked in soon to get looked at as i aint happy with it. :sad:

ianking
3rd January 2009, 06:25 PM
There is no adjustment on these clutches.