PDA

View Full Version : Gearbox Advice

VFR-Ray
22nd September 2008, 11:04 AM
I used to own a Mini One D - 04 plate, had it from new. Loved the car, but the gear change was horrible when selecting reverse. Considering purchasing another Mini, the Cooper D. Can someone tell me if BMW/Mini have put an improved box in the current Cooper D?

Living on an island I can't call past my nearest dealership to ask/test drive. What one person calls acceptable, another calls horrible. But my car is my business - I work as a Driving Instructor. I purchased my One D "blind" having had a test drive in a Mini One which had a different box! I found the gear change okay, but for some smaller people they really struggled getting car into reverse - two hands on the gear lever sometimes!

Craig
22nd September 2008, 11:17 AM
I think I am right in saying that the 6 speed gearbox in the Cooper D is the same one as in the Cooper S.. :confused: If so, then Jude had problems getting both of my S's into reverse. She had to use two hands to get it into gear...

this may be down to her being a bit weak, or that the gearbox was a bit tight...

I am sure a Dooper owner will be along soon... (ScottieDoop, Ajamesj, Zimbo...) :thumbs up:

Big Gordy
22nd September 2008, 12:36 PM
having had a test drive in a Mini One which had a different box! I found the gear change okay

That's about the only thing I can complain about in our 03 'ONE':eek:
I don't think I've ever managed to get it into reverse first time:ragin: That's even after the garage changed the cable:argh:
It always seems to happen when your trying to do a 'speedy' 3 point turn and your left like a numpty in the middle of the manoeuvre searching for reverse:thud:
Of course this never happens when her indoors drives it....sheesh!

VFR-Ray
22nd September 2008, 07:58 PM