PDA

View Full Version : No Water Coolant Left?!?!

sjfield1
7th July 2008, 09:40 PM
Anyone else had any trouble with their water coolant running out? Got a new mini in May, but have just had the overheating light come on and checked the coolant and its empty! Its only ran out since thurs, as a driving instructor my pupils have to check it for their test. Anyone else had trouble? :confused:

Last car was the oil running out, now its the coolant - well at least water is a little bit less expensive than oil lol :D

Sara-Jayne Field

Penicuik

MrMischief
7th July 2008, 09:55 PM
Have you noticed any under-car leaks? Try filling it carefully without spilling anything to see if you can spot any obvious leaks from anywhere. Otherwise, you may have a holed radiator or a split hose that only leaks when the system is warmed up & under pressure.

Alternatively, your water pump bearing may have given up the ghost - although very unlikely in a new car - or you may have a headgasket issue - also unlikely unless your learners have been hammering it :hand:

Also when you fill it up, try not to use water as it may corrode gaskets etc. Use a bmw approved coolant mix - it may not be cheaper than oil :eyes up:

Will be interesting to see the diagnosis...good luck :thumbs up:

Steve

ianking
7th July 2008, 09:58 PM
SJ

I had this issues with Sarahs R56 cooper last year. We only kept it about 10 months or so but it often had the over heating light come on and it regularly took a good litre of water. There was never any evidence of a leak though and no signs of water mixing with the oil. It was a mystery where it was going.

sjfield1
7th July 2008, 10:01 PM
Thanks for the reply. I park it in the same spot everyday and have not noticed any water coming out, although its not been the driest of weekends so maybe its just not been obvious.