PDA

View Full Version : Calling All So Called Photogrophers

Gismo
31st October 2007, 08:01 AM
Ok, i've had my Sony DSC - H2 for a long time now, but find that, even though i liked it initially for it's ease of use by a complete newbie to photography, i've outgrown it's real use.

It takes really good pictures, for me anyway, but, i want something a bit more challenging.

So, knowing that i'm still learning to take photo's properly, can anyone recommend a decent camera for me to upgrade to??
I'm still keen on ease of use, ie the auto button for everything :o but, am willing to learn better technique etc.

Ideally i want to shoot motor sport action shots close ups, knockhill for example.

One thing to consider for me, would i be better sticking with what i've got, and investing in a decent lens etc.

If it's felt i should upgrade cause the one i have is pants, then please recommend if i should look into lenses etc then, what kind, size etc

For example, i have seen this on Acecameras (http://www.acecameras.co.uk/asp/web/recorprod/1/product/12154/cat/1546/ph/cat/keywords//recor/1/SearchFor//PT_ID/1/product.asp)

All suitable advice accepted :rolleyes:

vintageb3
31st October 2007, 01:37 PM
Calum is the man to talk to about the Canon stuff....and ColinT shoots with Nikon...so he will have advice there.

As an amateur I like my Canon gear...and will upgrade the back end at some point.

I like my EF lenses and will keep them the rest of my days.

I was told Canon gives a more natural looking image with more nataural colour.

With Nikon I think the colours are more vibrant...but some say less natural.

I do like shots from both manufacturers....

mark

Gismo
31st October 2007, 01:47 PM
As an amateur I like my Canon gear...and will upgrade the back end at some point.

I like my EF lenses and will keep them the rest of my days.
So, for a partial novice like myself, is the Canon i listed, EOS 400D a good enough learner camera for me.