PDA

View Full Version : Tyre Time

ianking
1st October 2007, 01:37 PM
My R56 S with 17s on now has 12k miles on it and I recon that next month I will need 2 front tyres.:p

Do I go down the run flat keep it standard route, it currently has Dunlop on it, I think they are about £120 each.

Or do I put a couple proper tyres on, Prob about £80-£100 each.

Pro for runflat is obvoiusly I can drive slowly home but con is they are very hard.

Pro for proper tyre is they are surely better at handling and comfort and they are cheaper but con is that I wont be able to drive home. Should I join the AA then if I go down this route?

Your thoughts please....
Which is the best runflat or which is the best proper tyre to go for. I confess that I like to drive the car quite hard.

GAJ
1st October 2007, 01:45 PM
I've been running Goodyear Eagle F1 for the last 3 or 4 years and would thoroughly recommend them, think they are 215 45 17. I've tyre weld in the boot and a Britannia rescue card in my wallet!:rolleyes:

FergusM
1st October 2007, 01:52 PM
I plan to dump the run flats as soon as they are worn out...and either Eagle's or Michelin Pilot Sports will be going on..

...and a can of tyre weld of course

Craig
1st October 2007, 04:41 PM
Andy P says I am not allowed to dis the run-flats...

BUT WHO CARES WHAT HE THINKS!!!!!!!!!!! :eek: :rolleyes: :D

I would got for non run-flats... :D

Eagle F1's or Toyo Proxes (T1R) :cool:

AndyP & Lenore
1st October 2007, 05:07 PM
Andy P says I am not allowed to dis the run-flats...

From bitter experience I've learned my lesson not to ask a member of the run-flat haters club for advice on run flats.